5 Books like Paper Towns

Road Trip Books Like Paper Towns

Have you seen Paper Towns yet? If you have, here are 6 books like Paper Towns (some unusual!) to keep you going on those road-trip highs from some great bookbloggers. In no particular order:

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven coverAll the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – the wanderings of Violet Markey and Theodore Finch; both the official, in the form of Indiana’s not-ordinary places; and the unofficial, in the days, hours, minutes spent together. They work on their US Geography project visiting the highest hill in Indiana (1257ft), swimming in the Blue Hole and visiting the Indiana Moon Tree. They recite Dr Seuss and Virginia Woolf. They learn what it means to live and what it means to die. All the Bright Places is an extraordinary and moving account of depression. A euphoric and tragic novel, prepare your tissues! ~ Rhys
Demon Road by Derek Landy coverDemon Road by Derek Landy – I recently received a proof copy of the new Derek Landy book Demon Road.  Inside was a HUGE map and after attending an event with the man himself I discovered that Demon Road tells the story of a girl, Amber, who after discovering a huge family secret goes on the run across America…..from her parents.  I am yet to read it, but Derek described a road trip across America that I feel I will not forget!  I can’t wait! ~ Michelle from Tales of Yesterday
Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt coverHomecoming by Cynthia Voigt – Dicey isn’t your average oldest child, and being abandoned by her mother doesn’t mean she’s going to take it lying down. Travelling half way across America with your siblings in tow isn’t for the faint of heart, but Dicey has a plan. For anyone of us who has ever felt let down or abandoned. Dicey is the older sister you need.~ Jax from Live Otherwise
Saving June by Hannah Harrington coverSaving June by Hannah Harrington – Harper’s older sister, June, takes her own life with no warning or explanation. Their (separated) parents decide to split the ashes – an idea which horrifies Harper – so she takes the ashes and takes off across the country to California, the only place her sister ever really dreamed of going. With the help of her best friend, and the mildly irritating (yet somehow charming) Jake, Harper will finally help her sister get to where she wanted to be. I loved Saving June – it quickly found its way into my heart, along with an unlikely romance and a whole playlist of classic tunes.  I read it over three years ago, and yet it still travels with me. A road trip novel to remember! ~ Dani from Pen to Paper
Blood Red Road by Moira Young coverBlood Red Road by Moira Young – this YA post-apocalyptic book follows the main character, Saba, on her journey through the wilderness to rescue her kidnapped twin brother. One of the things that struck me about this road-trip is that it is so different to anything I could have expected. The world has a strong SF presence too, and when compared to novels with more conventional road-trips, Young’s portrayal appears more energised and unique. You never know what to expect. Another thing I loved about this road-trip is that it is not a straight forward case of the main character getting from A to B. She ends up embroiled in other characters’ plans, and even gets kidnapped herself along the way! ~ Madeline Dyer
The-Honest-Truth-Dan-GemeinhartThe Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart – road trippy in the sense that it’s about a boy (whose cancer has returned) running away to go hike an impossibly high mountain with his dog best friend. It’s pitch perfect, beautiful and utterly unputdownable. And that’s the honest truth. ~ George Lester from George Lester Writes

More posts like this include “10 Books to Read if you Loved The Fault In Our Stars” and “8 Books Like the Maze Runner“.

About Rhys

Rhys is a 19 year old with roots in the UK and Germany. Aside from reading and blogging, he also produces theatre, loves Kate Bush and hopes to pursue a career in publishing. His reviews have been widely quoted in books such as Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines Quartet, Catherine Bruton’s Pop!, James Treadwell’s Advent and Anarchy and he has presented at such events as Book Expo America.

Want to read more posts like this?

Subscribe to our email feed and get reviews, interviews, giveaways and opinion posts sent straight to your inbox!

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *